Knitting is my procrastination tool











{August 23, 2008}   Stitches Midwest ’08!

Stitches, if you didn’t know, is this big knitter’s convention that happens throughout the year in a few different places (there’s Stitches East, West, and Midwest).

You can take classes, go to banquets, or be like me and just go to the Market to oggle and more than likely buy yarn, notions, books, patterns, and other knitter stuff galore. 🙂

I visited my LYS, Gene Ann’s, of course. They didn’t bring all of their stock, but some is for sale at 50% off. Their new thing is their recyclable bag and a newly designed T-shirt logo. (The bags were serviceable white paper ones before. Actually, that was my main BYOB 😛 ).

Then I went to see fellow Raveler, Creatively Dyed Yarn. She saw the Ravelymics Bob pin I had (50% goes to Special Olympics, how cool is that?), and immediately gave me a Hello, My name is… Ravelry pin. Alas, I’ve smeared the marker. I restrained myself at her booth to 1 skein of sock yarn. Might go back for another pretty colorway.

Did lots of scoping, but am disappointed that most of the yarn sponsors did not bring samples of their yarn! There’s so much stuff I want to see in person! 😦 Only ONE vendor had Cascade 220 Superwash, and in limited colors at that. No one brought Berroco Love It. There wasn’t any Malabrigo in Indiecita.

I was hoping to find a wash & dryable yarn for a pattern, but ended up getting a light alpaca and some really yummy blue yarn that was on sale (lots for cheap, yea!).

I was pooped by 2:30pm (I think I arrived around noon), so I sat with some knitters in the cafeteria-style area (round tables, comfy chairs; ridiculous concession prices, but thankfully, no additional tax to them!)

I met people from IN, WI, and central IL. One lady I met invented a swift that Rick Mondragon (Knitter’s Magazine editor) was really excited about. I didn’t see it in action, but it looks intriguing and gets really small when put away. Look for a review in an upcoming Knitter’s.


I worked a bit more on my Norah Gaughan sweater. (er, the other Norah Gaughan sweater.)

Leave a Reply

et cetera
