Knitting is my procrastination tool











{September 30, 2007}   Libraries rock!

I have my hands on KnitKnit and Knitting Fair Isle Mitten & Gloves!

KnitKnit‘s got profiles of various interesting knitters, unfortunately, the patterns included are not as fun as the best of their work (i.e. seeing Tina Marrin in a great knit outfit, but there isn’t a pattern for it!! 😦 I took a pic of the page and am determined to duplicate. :)). A few were ‘oh, that’s cute, but not me,’ patterns, with the exception of Annie Modesitt’s cute swimsuit–which is why I checked out the book in the first place. πŸ™‚ There’s a list of various featured knitters’ websites or e-mails, but sadly, some of them are not developed at all. 😦 The sample of Eugene Ong’s work looks awesome, but NOT ONE PIC on the website is working! 😦

Some of the pictures have been seen elsewhere (Debbie New’s bowl/boat in A Gathering of Lace; Tina Marrin’s boots on Knitty Gritty; Althea Merback’s tiny knits in a recent issue of Interweave Knits; Norah Gaughan’s Knitting Nature work; and Dave Cole’s construction crane US flag on the internet–that’s for real! The proof is in the book. He is standing in front of the flag for a true sense of the scale in one pic!).

I’m excited about theKnitting Fair Isle Mittens & Gloves patterns (and it has nothing to do with not having to pay over $200 USD for it!). There’re gorgeous patterns and some variations–with different colors! I ❀ color. πŸ™‚ I think I’ll be getting into dyeing more often because of these little projects (why pay for 7+ skeins of each color?)

I just need to find the best sources for white/undyed/pale yarn. πŸ™‚ Or go thrift store combing for handknits to unravel.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
